BRENT HARTINGER – GEOGRAPHY CLUB PDF

GEOGRAPHY CLUB by Brent Hartinger (HarperCollins, ). Russel Middlebrook has a secret from even his best friends at high school, that he’s gay. But an. A closeted gay high school sophomore narrates Hartinger’s uneven yet realistic first novel. The story starts out strong, when Russel meets a jock from his school, . A modern classic about a group of teens discovering sexuality and identity, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and David Hart.

Author: Shaktim Malagar
Country: Mozambique
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Sex
Published (Last): 24 August 2005
Pages: 165
PDF File Size: 16.73 Mb
ePub File Size: 2.40 Mb
ISBN: 941-6-60492-561-3
Downloads: 24930
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Meztijinn

Then his online gay chat buddy turns out to be none other than Kevin, the popular but closeted star of the school’s baseball team. But Russel is stuck in place.

Geography Club : Brent Hartinger :

The parts with Russel and his love interest occur way later in the novel vs the film had it in the beginning and had more emotionally intimate scenes and leave you hanging for more detail.

Min wanted to let him join and is angry with Russel for voting with Kevin.

They’re blonde teenage girls which means they must be grotesque harlots. Russel’s realistic first-person narrative-one of the pioneering gay narrations in YA fiction-is a pleasure to read and captures the horrors and injustices of the high school social scene penetratingly, but in an appropriate, parent-approved fashion.

He needed to do some groveling for my liking. This exchange of feelings and struggles that would otherwise be repressed is both gritty and soulful, and constitutes a brilliant coming-of-age novel. As the story develops, there were still many problems for them to face, but they were not strong enough to dare to stand against the truth, instead both of them were hiding.

Honestly, some books make them so neutered it’s hard to take them hartniger.

Geography Club

It was such a wonderful book! It’s better than most YA, which isn’t saying much. Geogrphy there’s Terese’s politically active friend, Ike.

  BENTLEY AUTOPLANT TRAINING PDF

They’re like brothers, but they don’t know one essential thing: In order, the books in The Russel Middlebrook Series are: Feb 12, Menglong Youk rated it it was amazing Shelves: Why is it that love of musicals and fashion equal a gay man?

The novel follows a group of high school students who feel like outsiders, some because of their sexual orientations. But Hartinger credibly captures high school pressure and intolerance, from the opening scene in the boys’ locker room, in which Russel fears being found out, to a painful episode in which an outcast, thought to be the gay student, is humiliated in the school cafeteria.

This book is foul, empty, pointless drivel. Rafe is a normal teenager from Colorado. One of the best parts brsnt this book is by far the realistic portrayal of high school and nrent inhabitants.

All the archetypes are there for compelling characters, the classic high school clique drama, and the exciting flair of a slightly controversial topic for people to rally behind in this case, underdog queer kids and their allies.

Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. If you’re looking for something to bump of your book list, this is a quick read.

You just have to repsect their time. I wish Kevin finds the support he needs. The teenagers all play on different stereotypes from the male jock to the lesbian field hockey player, the nerdy ones, and the outsiders. And that sometimes, no matter how much you might wish for things to be out in the open, you’re just not ready.

Give as a gift. The readers can really connect with him. Gsography surfing the Internet one night, he finds chat rooms for different towns and cities, where you can talk breny other peo Reviewed by Me for TeensReadToo.

  ALLEN BRADLEY POWERFLEX 4M MANUAL PDF

Sure, it’s got a bit of an After School Special vibe. This wa well written and I an glad for the everyone of digesting mr. Please read this if you have any interest in high school dramas or gay fiction, you will not regret it. I was so much into the book, that I didn’t even mind the end.

Geography Club (Audiobook) by Brent Hartinger |

If I had to describe my own books, I would say, “Strong central concept, strong clbu, strong character and voice, and usually lots of humor. Discover what to read next.

This is a solidly mediocre contestant in the queer young adult genre. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Reviewed by Me for TeensReadToo. Well, besides Russel continuing to go out on double dates with Trish, even though he and Kevin had become boyfriends at that point.

But considering it is YA we will go with a 4! Goodreads helps you keep track of books bbrent want to read. Min and Terese tell everyone they’re really just good friends.

All in all Geography Club was pretty much average. Hartinger has a turn with sentences and phrases to make you grin aloud that’s a sort of open-mouthed Haarrgh without completely turning to laughterlike this one describing Russel’s encounter with Trish’s lips: Also, it’s really short, so it’s a pretty easy read.

My advice is to walk away from his terrible franchise and never look back. When Russell abused the boy in the janitor closet so his friends would think he was cool and just like them.